Welcome to our Parish



The parish of Fahan (Burt, Inch and Fahan) stretches along Lough Swilly from Buncrana to the border at Bridgend, from Newtowncunningham to Muff, with Inch sparkling in the centre.

The Parish of Fahan (Burt, Inch and Fahan) was constituted in its present form in 1865. It brought together Burt Inch, formerly part of Templemore and Iskaheen parishes and Upper Fahan, formerly part of Desertegney and Lower Fahan.


The Parish comprises of:


4 Churches


St Mura’s Parish Church, Fahan

The Church of the Immaculate Conception (Chapel of Ease), Fahan

St Aengus’ Church, Burt

Our Lady of Lourdes Church, Inch


3 Halls


Fowler Hall, Tooban, Burnfoot
St Mary’s Hall, Burt
St Michael’s Hall, Inch


2 Schools


St Mura’s National School, Tooban, Burnfoot
St Aengus’ National School, Bridgend


2 Residential Homes


Nazareth House, Fahan
Beach Hill Manor, Lisfannon



Places of Interest


St Mura’s Monastery, Fahan
St Mura’s Cross, Fahan
St Mura’s Holy Well, Fahan
St Mura’s Rectory, Fahan
Grianan of Aileach, Burt
Burt Castle, Burt
Inch Castle, Inch
Inch Lake


Sporting Clubs

Burt GAA Club, Burt Aileach Football Club, Burnfoot
Aileach Youth and Community Centre, Burnfoot
North West Golf Club, Lisfannon